If your case includes minor children you must complete a 4-hour parenting course before the court will enter a final judgment and parenting plan. This includes divorce and paternity cases, meaning that this requirement applies to married and unmarried parents.
find a Parenting Course near you
Before registering for a parenting course, make sure that parenting course is approved by the court in your county. Some counties require in person attendance at a parenting course, and may not recognize 'on-line' attendance. Otherwise, its up to you whether you take an on-line or in-person course.
What is a Florida Approved Parenting Course
Parenting courses must be at least 4 hours in duration, designed pursuant to Florida family law to provide information to parents as that information relates to court actions between parents involving parental responsibility, care, time-sharing, and support of a child or children.
Each parenting course will include a required 25 question multiple choice test designed to demonstrate the level of comprehension of the learning objectives by the participant. You will be required to pass the test to receive a certificate of completion.
Parenting course providers may charge a reasonable fee for the class, generally around $40.00. After completing the parenting course you will receive a certificate of completion, which should be filed with the court to inform the judge that you have complied with the requirement to take a parenting course.