Florida 3 Day Notice to Pay or Vacate

Non-Payment of Rent

If a tenant does not pay rent when due according to the rental agreement, then the landlord can serve on the property a 3 Day Notice to Pay or Vacate the property.  The 3 Day Notice to Pay or Vacate notifies the tenant that rent is late and due within 3 days (excluding the say served, weekends, and legal holidays) of serving the notice.  Serving the tenant notice is required before the eviction complaint may be filed in court.  An eviction case can only be filed after expiration of the time period on the notice.


Written or oral rental agreement describes the terms of the lease agreement between the landlord and tenant.


Once the landlord has posted a notice, the tenant has a limited amount of time to come into compliance with the notice.


Florida Eviction Law: 83.20  and 83.56 (3)

view also: Notice Requirements


Who Can Post the Notice?

It is not necessary that a Notice to the Tenant be delivered by a sheriff or Florida certified process server.  The owner of the property, the landlord or an agent of the landlord may personally give the notice to the tenant at the rental property.  NOTE: If the landlord mails the notice to the tenant, the you must add five (5) days to the date the tenant must respond to the notice.


How to Deliver a 3 Day Notice to Pay or Vacate:  

  1. in person by hand delivery to the tenant.
  2. posted on the property in a conspicuous place (such as the front door)
  3. delivered via US Mail, registered or certified mail.

When can I deliver a 3 Day Notice?

Generally, rent is due on the first day of each month. Landlords and tenants may agree to different terms, preferably in a written lease agreement (but sometimes an oral agreement), making the rent due on a different day of the month.   Often times, written rental agreements offer a 'grace period' after the due date before penalties or late fees might be incurred, but the rent due on the due date.


After I deliver a 3 Day Notice to Pay or Vacate, what happens? 

If the tenant pays the full rent amount due before the expiration of three business days following the posting of a 3 Day Notice, then the landlord must accept the late rent payment, and the landlord cannot evict the tenant.


If the tenant fails to pay the full amount of rent owed and 3 full business days have passed then Florida landlord can terminate the rental agreement and evict the tenant from the property by filing a case in court.  Florida eviction laws 83.56 provide some guidance on what a proper notice looks like.


In some cases, the tenant will offer to pay a partial payment towards the amount listed on the 3 Day Notice.  If the landlord accepts a partial rent payment after posting the 3 Day Notice then the landlord has waived the right to terminate the rental agreement or to bring an eviction case in court. (see Florida statutes 83.56(5).


If the landlord accepts partial payment after posting a 3 Day Notice, the landlord must:

  1. Provide the tenant with a receipt stating the date and amount received and the agreed upon date and balance of rent due before filing an eviction action for possession;
  2. Place the amount of partial rent accepted from the tenant in the registry of the court upon filing an eviction action for possession; or
  3. Post a new 3 day notice reflecting the new amount due.


view also Notice Requirements


*The information on this website is not legal advise, nor a substitute for legal advice.  Speak with an experienced Florida eviction lawyer to discuss your specific facts, and to review Florida Eviction Law. 


Call (888) 384-2872 for a free consultation

Florida Eviction Statute 83.20

  •  83.20 Causes for removal of tenants.Any tenant or lessee at will or sufferance, or for part of the year, or for one or more years, of any houses, lands or tenements, and the assigns, under tenants or legal representatives of such tenant or lessee, may be removed from the premises in the manner hereinafter provided in the following cases:
  • (1) Where such person holds over and continues in the possession of the demised premises, or any part thereof, after the expiration of the person’s time, without the permission of the person’s landlord.
  • (2) Where such person holds over without permission as aforesaid, after any default in the payment of rent pursuant to the agreement under which the premises are held, and 3 days’ notice in writing requiring the payment of the rent or the possession of the premises has been served by the person entitled to the rent on the person owing the same. The service of the notice shall be by delivery of a true copy thereof, or, if the tenant is absent from the rented premises, by leaving a copy thereof at such place.
  • (3) Where such person holds over without permission after failing to cure a material breach of the lease or oral agreement, other than nonpayment of rent, and when 15 days’ written notice requiring the cure of such breach or the possession of the premises has been served on the tenant. This subsection applies only when the lease is silent on the matter or when the tenancy is an oral one at will. The notice may give a longer time period for cure of the breach or surrender of the premises. In the absence of a lease provision prescribing the method for serving notices, service must be by mail, hand delivery, or, if the tenant is absent from the rental premises or the address designated by the lease, by posting.
  • History.—s. 1, ch. 3248, 1881; RS 1751; GS 2227; RGS 3535; CGL 5399; s. 34, ch. 67-254; s. 20, ch. 77-104; s. 2, ch. 88-379; s. 1, ch. 93-70; s. 437, ch. 95-147.

Florida Eviction Statute 83.56 (5)(a)

  • 83.56(5)(a) Landlord Accepts Partial Rent If the landlord accepts rent with actual knowledge of a noncompliance by the tenant or accepts performance by the tenant of any other provision of the rental agreement that is at variance with its provisions, or if the tenant pays rent with actual knowledge of a noncompliance by the landlord or accepts performance by the landlord of any other provision of the rental agreement that is at variance with its provisions, the landlord or tenant waives his or her right to terminate the rental agreement or to bring a civil action for that noncompliance, but not for any subsequent or continuing noncompliance. However, a landlord does not waive the right to terminate the rental agreement or to bring a civil action for that noncompliance by accepting partial rent for the period. If partial rent is accepted after posting the notice for nonpayment, the landlord must:
  • 1. Provide the tenant with a receipt stating the date and amount received and the agreed upon date and balance of rent due before filing an action for possession;
  • 2. Place the amount of partial rent accepted from the tenant in the registry of the court upon filing the action for possession; or
  • 3. Post a new 3-day notice reflecting the new amount due.
    (b) Any tenant who wishes to defend against an action by the landlord for possession of the unit for noncompliance of the rental agreement or of relevant statutes must comply with s. 83.60(2). The court may not set a date for mediation or trial unless the provisions of s. 83.60(2) have been met, but must enter a default judgment for removal of the tenant with a writ of possession to issue immediately if the tenant fails to comply with s. 83.60(2).
    (c) This subsection does not apply to that portion of rent subsidies received from a local, state, or national government or an agency of local, state, or national government; however, waiver will occur if an action has not been instituted within 45 days after the landlord obtains actual knowledge of the noncompliance.
  • (6) If the rental agreement is terminated, the landlord shall comply with s. 83.49(3).
  • History.—s. 2, ch. 73-330; s. 23, ch. 82-66; s. 6, ch. 83-151; s. 14, ch. 83-217; s. 6, ch. 87-195; s. 6, ch. 93-255; s. 6, ch. 94-170; s. 1373, ch. 95-147; s. 5, ch. 99-6; s. 8, ch. 2013-136.

3 Day Notice to Pay or Vacate (pdf)

Download